Blow People Away

Posted on Updated on

Insipid — defined as “lacking qualities that excite, stimulate, or interest; dull.”

I do not want to read insipid stories. I do not want to see insipid characters in a movie or a book. I do not want to write insipid stories.

I want my writing to blow people away. Figuratively, of course. I want them to live in the stories I write. I want them to cry and laugh when the main character cries or laughs. I want the reader to live in the story in such a way that if there is a breeze blowing across the pages that they will think they feel the pages will turn on their own.

Don’t be insipid. There are plenty of movies and books like that. They are not written from the soul, but from the head. Be different.

makewritingblowpeopleaway

“Make your writing blow people away!” — Anonymous

2 thoughts on “Blow People Away

    sunnydaystone said:
    September 23, 2014 at 9:11 am

    Great way to think about your characters – but do you have any advice to add on how to bring them to life? One point that comes to mind is “Have each character have a secret. Keep it in the back of your mind. Bring it out if you must, but always have it in your pocket.”

    Like

      Mark Anthony Escalera responded:
      September 23, 2014 at 9:31 am

      sunnydaystone, that is a great idea to hang on to the secret until (or if) you need it. Thanks for stopping and sharing.

      As for bringing them to life, I just about always write a family member or a friend into my story, at least in my mind. It makes the character personal and I like/love them easier. I do not think of them as merely pieces of ink on paper.

      Like

Leave a Reply

