Where the Credit Belongs

Posted on Updated on

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.”

HT: Goodreads ― Theodore Roosevelt

4 thoughts on “Where the Credit Belongs

    TradeRoutz livingStyle said:
    October 8, 2015 at 9:30 am

    I love your writing, bar this piece. There is no victory in what this describes. Man should love one another, and THAT is the greatest victory of all. It is in laying down your arms that shows what kind of man who are. Strength is not shown with a sword, but with a smile.

    Like

    Mark Anthony Escalera responded:
    October 8, 2015 at 9:49 am

    TradeRoutz, thanks for your comment. I can understand why you would think that. I think though that this merely points out how I am personally feeling as I progress as a writer and in personal areas of my life. To me, the quote by Roosevelt does not speak of actual war but is a picture of what it means to not give up and to realize that anybody can speak ill of you when they stand outside the fights you are in. It is only when they stand alongside you and help you get through those difficulties that it makes a difference. I hope that clarifies and thanks for stopping by again.

    Like

      TradeRoutz livingStyle said:
      October 9, 2015 at 11:18 am

      Thanks for explaining it to me Mark. I thought it was all about the wonders of war, of which I’m so dead against. (no pun intended). thank you for explaining it to me. I do hope I didn’t offend you.

      Like

        Mark Anthony Escalera responded:
        October 9, 2015 at 11:55 am

        No, you did not offend me at all. I also am not in favor of war.

        Like

Leave a Reply

